California Arts Council

State of California

Press Release Detail

February 23, 2016Caitlin Fitzwater

Speaker Atkins Appoints Larry Baza to California Arts Council

State arts council welcomes San Diego arts leader and experienced arts funder

Sacramento -

Larry Baza Assembly Speaker Toni G. Atkins today announced the appointment of Larry Baza to the California Arts Council.

"With nearly 40 years of experience as a professional art administrator, Larry has proven his value to San Diego's arts community," said Speaker Atkins (D-San Diego). "He's worked hard to bring in funding for the arts, and his passion and experience make him well-qualified to represent San Diego's interests. I'm pleased to add such a wonderful advocate to the Arts Council."

Mr. Baza replaces Michael Alexander, who served on the Council for twelve years and was elected Chair of the Council in 2007 and 2008. 

Larry Baza is a professional arts administrator with more than 32 years of experience in advocating for the arts at the local, state and national level. He is currently the Chair of the San Diego Arts Commission. Mr. Baza has served on the boards of various nonprofit arts organizations and provided his expertise as a panelist for arts commissions and foundations. In his professional career, he has directed and managed San Diego arts organizations and businesses including Centro Cultural De La Raza, Sushi Performance and Visual Arts, Fingerhut Gallery, and Community Arts of San Diego. His wealth of knowledge and experience includes affiliations, consultancies, site visits and panel participation with multiple arts organizations including the National Endowment for the Arts, California Arts Council, California Association of Local Arts Organizations, Chicano Federation of San Diego County, National Association of Latino Arts and Culture, and the San Diego Community Foundation.

The California Arts Council consists of eleven members, nine appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the President pro Tempore of the Senate, and one appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly. The members serve staggered terms. Council Members serve without salary, elect their own chair and vice chair, and meet throughout the state to encourage public attendance. The Council establishes general policy for the agency and approves program allocations. 

#  #  #

The Mission of the California Arts Council, a state agency, is to advance California through the arts and creativity. The Council is committed to building public will and resources for the arts; fostering accessible arts initiatives that reflect contributions from all of California's diverse populations; serving as a thought leader and champion for the arts; and providing effective and relevant programs and services.

Members of the California Arts Council include: Chair Donn K. Harris, Vice Chair Susan Steinhauser, Larry Baza, Phoebe Beasley, Christopher Coppola, Kathleen Gallegos, Jaime Galli, Nashormeh Lindo, Louise McGuinness, Steven Oliver, and Rosalind Wyman. Learn more at

return to press releases