California Arts Council

State of California

The Beach Boys, Carlos Santana and Amy Tan announced for 2011 California Hall of Fame
Also, former Council member Doris Fisher

Published: 09-12-2011

The California Museum of History, Women and the Arts announced the nominees for the 2011 California Hall of Fame on Monday, September 12, and four of the 10 are renowned California artists or arts patrons. The musical group The Beach Boys, musician Carlos Santana, and novelist Amy Tan will join the ranks of the California Hall of Fame elite in December as will Doris Fisher, California Arts Council member from 1997-2000 (who is being honored for her entrepreneurialism and philanthropy along along with her husband Donald).

From The California Museum Website:

The Beach Boys' music, with its trademark harmonies and lyrics, has brought the spirit of California all around the world. Perhaps more than any other musicians, the Beach Boys have symbolized the California Dream for over 50 years. Formed in Hawthorne, California, the original group consisted of five young men: Wilson brothers Brian, Dennis and Carl, their cousin Mike Love and friend Al Jardine. READ MORE

Delivered with a level of passion and soul equal to the sonic charge of his guitar, the sound of Carlos Santana is one of the world's best-known musical signatures. For over four decades, Carlos has been the visionary force behind music that transcends genres as well as cultural and geographical boundaries. After first rising to fame during the late '60s San Francisco Bay Area music scene, Santana emerged onto the global stage with an epic set at Woodstock '69, the same year that his self-titled debut LP came out. Over the last 40 years of his career, Santana has sold more than 90 million records and reached over 100 million fans in concerts around the world. READ MORE

Born in Oakland, California, to Chinese immigrants, Amy Tan rejected her mother's expectations that she become a doctor and concert pianist. She chose to write fiction instead. Her novels are The Joy Luck Club, The Kitchen God's Wife, The Hundred Secret Senses, The Bonesetter's Daughter and Saving Fish from Drowning, all New York Times bestsellers and recipients of various awards. She is also the author of a memoir, two children's books, and numerous magazine articles. Her work has been translated into 35 languages. READ MORE

Doris and Don Fisher had a simple idea: to make it easier to find a pair of jeans. In 1969, they revolutionized the retail industry by opening the first Gap store on Ocean Avenue in San Francisco. With no retail experience, Doris and Don opened that first store, selling Levi's jeans and records. They delivered a shopping experience that was fun and the concept caught on. Credited with inventing specialty retail, the Fishers grew their company into a major global brand with more than 3,200 stores. 

To inspire and support Gap Inc. employees and customers to invest in the communities where they work and live, the Fishers formed Gap Foundation in 1977. The Fishers used the rewards of Gap Inc. to further personal commitments to education, the arts and community.

Considered among the premiere collectors of contemporary art, the Fishers selected pieces that they could share and encourage a love of art. Their collection, with some 1,100 pieces by renowned names like Andy Warhol, Chuck Close and Roy Lichtenstein, will be permanently housed at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.  READ MORE

Conceived by First Lady Maria Shriver, The California Museum's California Hall of Fame was established in 2006 to honor legendary people who embody California's innovative spirit and have made their mark on history. The California Hall of Fame inductees come from all walks of life and are people who have made distinguished achievements across many fields, including the arts, education, business and labor, science, sports, philanthropy and public service.

The other 2011 Hall of Fame inductees include Buzz Aldrin (astronaut), Elizabeth Blackburn (scientist), Fr. Gregory Boyle (community activist), Magic Johnson (basketball superstar), Ed Roberts (disability rights advocate), and Justice Roger Traynor (CA Supreme Court justice). All the inductees will be honored on Thursday, December 8, with inductees and/or family taking part in the annual ceremony in Sacramento. To see more, go to

return to from the vault